Dreamscapes

Who? – Adrian Henri

Who can I

spend my life

with

Who can I

listen to Georges Brassens

singing

‘Les amoureux des bancs publiques’

with

Who can I

go to Paris with

getting drunk at night with

tall welldressed spades

Who can I

quarrel with

outside chipshops

on landings

Who else

can sing along with Shostakovitch

Who else

would sign a Christmas card

Cannonball’

Who else

can work the bathroom geyser

Who else

drinks as much bitter

Who else

makes all my favourite meals

except the ones I make

myself

Who else

Would bark back to dogs

in the moonlit lamplight streets

Who else

would I find

waiting dark bigeyed

in a corner of a provincial jazzclub

You say

we don’t get on

anymore

but

who can I

laugh on beaches with

wondering at the noise

the limpets make

still sucking in the tide

Who

can I

buy

my next Miles Davis record

to share with

who

makes coffee the way I like it

and

love the way I used to like it

who

came in from the sun

the day

the world went spinning away

from me

who

doesn’t wash the clothes I always want

who

spends my money

who

wears my dressing gown

and always leaves the sleeves turned up

who

makes me feel

as empty as the house does

when she’s not there

who

else

but

you

8 komentara

  1. …no one…

    Rastužila si me …

  2. Nije mi to bila namera… Ono što se meni svidelo u ovoj pesmi je podsećanje da iako je ljubav nešto veliko, apstraktno i neopipljivo, ipak se ogleda u malim, svakodnevnim stvarima koje delimo sa nekim.

  3. Pliziram translejt, jer moj prevod ne lici na pesmu, ne lici na nista jbt.

  4. Transletujem prvom (telefonskom) prilikom🙂

  5. posle prosledi taj translejt i meni ja ako pocnem da prevodimispasce nsto nalik na ide maca oko tebe, tolko sam dobra sa engleskim

  6. OK, potrudiću se.🙂

  7. sheila

    thank you for posting this. It is my favourite poem of the Mersey poets and one of my favourites of all time….but there’s a few typos in the version posted, the most important of which are in this passage (this, first one, is the correct version):

    who
    makes coffee the way I like it
    and
    love the way I used to like it
    who
    came in from the sun
    the day
    the world went spinning away
    from me

    this (below) is how it appears on the site – the word „loves“ (line 4 here) should read „love“, and the word „spent“ (line 8) should read „went“

    who
    makes coffee the way I like it
    and
    loves the way I used to like it
    who
    came in from the sun
    the day
    the world spent spinning away
    from me it.

  8. Thanks for the comment. I corrected it.🙂

Ostavite odgovor

